Michigan MIP Statute
The current statute can be found at MCL 436.1703. We have provided a link to the full text version of the statute below. Michigan law makes it a crime if a minor purchases, attempts to purchase, consumes or attempts to consume any alcoholic liquor. In addition, it makes it a crime to have any bodily alcohol content. If a GVSU student is arrested, given a citation or charged in any way with this crime, it is a misdemeanor subject to the penalties we will describe below.
Minor in Possession First Offense
If this is your first Minor in Possession or MIP and you are convicted or plead guilty, you face a fine of not more than $100 and court costs above and beyond that amount. In addition, the court could order you to participate in substance abuse screenings and counseling if appropriate. The court could also order you to perform community service and pay for any substance abuse screening.
In the Hudsonville 58th District Court, you could be ordered to take a drug and alcohol test, search of your residence or dorm room, random alcohol and drug testing, large fines and costs, community service, parental involvement, sworn affidavits, and potential jail time for contempt of court depending on how honest you are with the court and cash for bond. IF you are granted an MIP Diversion, you could face a two year probationary period and additional oversight fees and requirements that we go over in detail on the diversion page.
Minor in Possession Second Offense
If you are facing an MIP Second Offense, even if you have successfully completed a diversion program before, you could face up to 30 days in jail if you violate an order of probation, fail to successfully complete any treatment, screening, or community service as ordered by the court, OR fail to pay any fines and costs. This is in addition to everything that was listed above for an MIP First Offense.
Also your drivers license will be suspended by the Secretary of State for 90 days. A restricted license is available after 30 days.
Minor in Possession Third Offense
If this is an MIP Third or subsequent offense, in addition to everything that was listed above for an MIP First Offense, you will face up to 60 days in jail if you violate an order of probation, fail to successfully complete any treatment, screening, or community service as ordered by the court, OR fail to pay any fines and costs. In the Hudsonville 58th District Court and Judge Post, you can expect to do the maximum amount of jail time for both an MIP second and third offense if you fail to adhere to his orders of probation.
Also your drivers license will be suspended by the Secretary of State for 1 year. A restricted license is available after 60 days.
If you are facing an MIP charge in the 58th District Court – Hudsonville, do not face the court system alone! Call MIP Attorney Ray Purdy today for a FREE MIP consultation at (616) 502-1646